The Sky Is Crying

Available in Audiophile 192kHz/24bit, 96kHz/24bit, DSD 2.8MHz & DSD 5.6MHz

Album kaufen
Album Name Dauer Format Auflösung Preis
The Sky Is Crying 36:50 19,00 €
Buy Individual Tracks
# Track Title Dauer Format Auflösung Preis
1 The Sky Is Crying 03:15 192/24 Album only
2 Don't Let Your Right Hand 06:10 192/24 Album only
3 Coming Home to You Baby 04:00 192/24 Album only
4 The Story of Sonny Boy Williamson 04:40 192/24 Album only
5 Gettin' Together 03:50 192/24 Album only
6 Little Girl 04:20 192/24 Album only
7 I Can't Understand 03:20 192/24 Album only
8 Slowly Walk Close to Me 03:25 192/24 Album only
9 I Wonder Do I Have a Friend 03:50 192/24 Album only

Preis wie konfiguriert: 19,00 €

* Pflichtfelder

℗ 2017 2xHD - Storyville Records
© 2017 2xHD - Storyville Records

Sonny boy Williamson (Rice Miller) is acknowledged as one of the most charismatic and influential blues musicians, with considerable prowess on the harmonica and highly creative song writing skills. One listen to Sonny Boy and you’ll know no one else was quite the same.

This album is a must have for any Sonny Boy Williamson (Rice Miller) fan.

Every blues harmonica player since Sonny Boy has struggled to master his style. You can hear his licks played by James Cotton (whom Sonny Boy raised and tutored), Junior Wells, Howling Wolf, Junior Parker and literally hundreds of other harp players. But one listen to Sonny Boy and you’ll know no one else was quite the same. It’s hard to think of a single song he recorded not worth listening to again and again.

In this outstanding recording quality you can hear the exchange from Lung to Breath to Harmonica, plus Sonny Boy’s distinctive gravelly voice.

"Miller's music was as entertaining and fun as any that emanated from Chicago during the city's blues heyday. His canon is among the most consistently high-quality of any bluesman's, and this recording is an important addition to his legacy. It's an exquisitely crafted, often hilarious peek into a side he seldom revealed. And between the astonishing demonstrations of harmonica virtuosity and the mind-boggling lyrical convolutions, the genius of Rice Miller soars at unfettered full throttle." - David Whitens, Chicago Reader



In the constant evolution of its proprietary mastering process, 2xHD has progressed to a new phase called 2xHD FUSION, integrating the finest analog, with state-of-the-art digital technology.

The mastering chain consists of a selection of high-end vacuum tube equipment. For the recordings on this album, the original ¼” 15 ips CCIR master tapes were played on a Nagra-T tape recorder, modified with high-end tube playback electronics, wired with OCC silver cable from the playback head direct to a Nick Doshi tube head preamplifier. The Nagra T, with its four direct drive motors, two pinch rollers and a tape tension head, has one of the best transports ever made. A custom-built carbon fiber head block and a head damping electronic system permit 2xHD FUSION to obtain a better resolution and 3D imaging.

The resulting signal is then transferred into high resolution formats by recording it in DSD 11.2 MHz using a Merging Technologies’ Horus A to D converter. All analog and digital cables that are used are state of the art. The 2xHD FUSION mastering system is powered by a super capacitor power supply, using a new technology that lowers the digital noise found in the lowest level of the spectrum. A vacuum tube NAGRA HDdac (DSD) is used as a reference digital playback converter in order to A and B with the original analog master tape, permitting the fusion of the warmth of analog with the refinement of digital.

2xHD was created by producer/studio owner André Perry and audiophile sound engineer René Laflamme