Available in Audiophile 44.1kHz/24bit

Album kaufen
Album Name Dauer Format Auflösung Preis
48:13 48:13 25,50 €
Buy Individual Tracks
# Track Title Dauer Format Auflösung Preis
1 (shiva) 01:07 44.1/24 Album only
2 bumblebeee 04:01 44.1/24 Album only
3 stevie 04:45 44.1/24 Album only
4 (mortis) 00:48 44.1/24 Album only
5 doomsday 03:40 44.1/24 Album only
6 treat 06:53 44.1/24 Album only
7 glass 04:48 44.1/24 Album only
8 explodes 04:18 44.1/24 Album only
9 (levitation) 01:19 44.1/24 Album only
10 clouds 04:45 44.1/24 Album only
11 eez-eh 03:00 44.1/24 Album only
12 bow 04:27 44.1/24 Album only
13 s.p.s. 04:22 44.1/24 Album only

Preis wie konfiguriert: 25,50 €

* Pflichtfelder

℗ 2014 Sony Music Entertainment UK Limited


What is an album, but the sum of all its parts?

Kasabian’s refreshing new album 48:13 consists of 13 tracks, accumulating to a total running time of 48 minutes and 13 seconds.

The distinct sound and integrity of Kasabian’s fifth studio album are the very essence of the band, distilled and re-packaged into a record which will inevitably make the band’s unique ability extremely clear. It is a record that has been made possible by the continuous evolution and musical experimentation of the band through their previous 4 albums, spanning a career which celebrates its 10th year with the release of their 5th album.

The intent and focus of the 13 songs is also reflected in the band’s decision to distill the title of each track into a single word. On writing and single-handedly producing the album, guitarist and vocalist Sergio Pizzorno commented: “I felt that we had the confidence to be more direct, more honest with this album. I started to strip away layers rather than to just keep adding.” Speaking of the album – recorded at Pizzorno’s Leicester studio ‘The Sergery’ – he added: “I wanted to retain the integrity of every individual idea as they came through. I sort of fought the temptation of applying more expected structures, which has resulted in some moves which have even taken me by surprise at times. I’ve somehow been able to let go yet been more focused than ever before.”  

The band’s explosive frontman Tom Meighan is perhaps even more direct with his take on the record: “Less is more, you know? It’s direct. It is what it is. Just listen to it. We’ve had the confidence to lay ourselves bare. Sergio has stripped it right back. It’s unbelievable.” 

Pizzorno has always cited his 3 primary musical references as being electronic music, hip hop and late 60′s guar music; and there has never been a record coming closer to bringing the unexpected marriage of those genres into a singular vision of the unlimited  possibilities for the future of Rock and Roll. This is progressive music with roots.

1st single ‘Eez-eh’ shows just one end of the spectrum of possibilities showcased by Pizzorno’s song-writing and production. This is a relentless all-night tune which will doubtlessly ignite the moshpits of the band’s string of high-profile summer headlines, not least that of their much anticipated Sunday 29th of June night pyramid stage headline slot at this year’s Glastonbury festival, and of course the huge sold-out Leicester homecoming gig at Victoria Park on the previous weekend, June 21st.

The 7 minute odyssey that is ‘Treat’ splits into two well crafted halves; the first of which feels as if Sly and the Family Stone met up with the Beastie Boys sometime in the distant future. The 2nd part kicks in and somehow seamlessly bathes us in a sea of pure acid house, a nod by Pizzorno to his up-bringing in the midlands surrounded by the rave scene in the 90s.

Another example of the album’s futuristic direction is found in ‘Explodes’, the first track made available – through the pre-order of the album. The de-constructive and experimental nature of its structure never conflicts with its undeniable melodies and hooks. ‘Bow’ is a huge anthemic song that starts off sounding something reminiscent of Nirvana, but eclectically breaks off the end into something more like the Terminator soundtrack‘Stevie’ is arguably one of Kasabian’s most powerful songs to date. A sort of battle cry, reminding us of recent socio-cultural conflict and tension. ‘S.P.S.’ is a song that perfectly sums up the moment of a night when 2 best friends are the last ones standing. ‘Now there’s only us two left’ sings Pizzorno, as he reflects on a monumental night with the rising sun as a backdrop.

‘Bumblebeee’ features a wall of fizzing sound, and an organ part inspired by Nigerian lo-fi electronic auteur William Onyeabor. All of the above is powered by a ferocious drumbeat that, as frontman Tom Meighan points out, has a hint of the Beastie Boys’ ‘Sabotage’ about it. Pizzorno’s description of the song gives light to its origins: “It’s really designed for a mosh pit. We want to create a mosh pit visible from outer space. I think it had to do with coming back from all those festivals and seeing those huge crowds, seeing what they react to. Lyrically, it’s about the crowd, the fans. That moment we share onstage, where they’re giving as much as we’re giving, it’s so special.”

The video for ‘Eez-eh’ is directed by the globally acclaimed artist and designer Aitor Throup, who has taken the role of Creative Director of the album. Creating the visual identity for the whole campaign, Throup’s role spans from designing the album’s equally impactful artwork to creatively directing the band’s upcoming high profile live shows.

48:13 addresses everything from politics and consumerism to altered states of mind and the saturation of technology, and features a guest appearance from 23-year old spoken word artist Suli Breaks.

Kasabian are: songwriter, guitarist, vocalist and producer Sergio Pizzorno, lead singer Tom Meighan, bassist Chris Edwards, drummer Ian Matthews and new touring guitarist Tim Carter.